A conviction for driving under the influence in Idaho will involve heavy penalties. Even the penalties for a first offense may include a prison sentence of up to six months, driver's license suspension of up to a year, fines of up to $500 and DUI School. The only way to negotiate alternative sentencing or lessened penalties is to work with an experienced lawyer who will work to protect your rights and your driving privileges. In conjunction with the criminal case is also a DMV hearing, regarding the suspension of your driver's license.
Second DUI Offense (within 5 years):
Third DUI Offense (within 5 years):
One penalty common in Idaho is the ignition interlock device (IID). This is essentially a breath machine that is installed into the engine of the car, about the size of a wallet or a cell phone. Per Idaho Code §316.193, a defendant who is convicted of driving under the influence will have it installed in their vehicle for over a year for a second offense, over three years for a third and over five years for a fourth conviction. Should the defendant had been driving with a BAC over 0.15 percent or if they had a minor in the car at the time of arrest, it will be six months minimum for a first conviction and two years minimum for a second conviction. They will also need to incur all costs of the device, including a $12 Interlock fee, $70 for installation and a monthly fee of $67.50 for monitoring and calibration.
Boise Advocate is experienced in defending DUI charges. We understand the penalties associated with this criminal offense are harsh and that a driver will need skilled representation to even have a hope of avoiding them. It is our goal to provide you with the excellent service of an attorney who will keep you informed every step of the way and aggressively fight your charges! Contact us today to request your free consultation.
Open 24 Hours Daily
Copyright © 2010 - 2022 by Boise Advocate. All Rights Reserved. www.boiseadvocate.com